Xiarhos Receives 2024 CONNECT Distinguished Legislator Award

April 5, 2024

BOURNE – During a special ceremony held at Massachusetts Maritime Academy in Buzzards Bay on Thursday, State Representative Steven Xiarhos received the prestigious CONNECT 2024 Distinguished Legislator Award.

“We are delighted to honor Representative Steven Xiarhos with the 2024 Distinguished Legislator Award for his remarkable dedication to public service and his impactful advocacy,” said Fred W. Clark, President, Bridgewater State University and CONNECT Board Chair. “His tireless efforts and unwavering commitment to improving our public education system exemplify the values of collaboration and excellence that we hold dear at CONNECT.”

According to CONNECT, Representative Xiarhos was recognized for having consistently demonstrated his commitment to serving the public and advocating for initiatives that positively impact our communities. “His relentless efforts have significantly contributed to successful regional higher education collaborations and have championed legislation aimed at safeguarding the rights of children, families, persons with disabilities, and enhancing safety in our public education system.”

CONNECT is a leading organization dedicated to promoting collaboration and innovation in legislative initiatives. It is a consortium of six public colleges and universities in Southeastern Massachusetts: Bridgewater State University, Bristol Community College, Cape Cod Community College, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, Massasoit Community College, and the University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth.

The event also recognized the outstanding contributions of Representative Xiarhos’s esteemed colleagues, Senator Susan Moran and former State Representative and now Undersecretary Josh Cutler.

Steve Xiarhos is the State Representative for the Massachusetts 5th Barnstable District, which includes Sandwich and portions of the towns of Barnstable and Bourne. He is currently serving his second term as a member of the Massachusetts House of Representatives.